Learning to be a good father

Posted: May 8, 2011 in childhood, fatherhood, memories, personal

Today I helped my 12 year old shave for the first time.

I remember the first time I shaved – Nobody was there to show me – it was just my own reflection in the mirror. My father died at a time in a boy’s life when he needs someone to show him how to be a man. Even if he’d been alive, I’m not sure he’d have shown me – we never had that kind of relationship. Not once did he tell me he was proud of me or that he loved me.

I helped my son shave for the first time. I tell him I’m proud of him and that I love him every day. Over the years I’ve learned that I can be the father I always wanted to have. Some days I do better than others.

Comments
  1. Patty says:

    My dad didn’t have a great relationship in his childhood but he made my sister and mine the best childhood ever. So maybe in a way he learned what “not to do ” from his parents. It’s still learning.

  2. humincat says:

    How awesome, you helping him shave. The best job any parent can do, is try. Todo los dias, estamos ensenando y sigiendo. Es todo que puedemos hacer.

  3. Wow, Carlos…I admire your honesty and the sensitivity of your posts. I’m really looking forward to reading more! I love this post and the one about you cooking with your wife and “You know you’re married to a gringa when…”! Really great posts! I’ll definitely be coming back! Also, I left your wife a message about your blog. Let me know hermano. :)

Leave a Reply

