Fútbol + Memories

Posted: June 21, 2011 in El Salvador, memories, mi gringa, personal
Tags:

It had been almost 20 years since I had seen my country’s fútbol team, La Selecta, play in person. This past Sunday, after being here in the United States all these years, I had the opportunity to see them play against Panama in a Gold Cup quarterfinal match.

Before we even went into the stadium, even in the Metro on the way to the game and the parking lot before it, I felt happy to be surrounded by so many Salvadorans.

The first game was U.S. vs. Jamaica. I sang along to the anthem of my adopted country, the homeland of my wife and my children, The Star Spangled Banner, (well, I tried but I honestly still can’t get all the words right. Do people who speak English as their first language know what “ramparts” are?) I felt proud to see other Salvadorans waving the U.S. flag and happy when the United States won.

For the second game, as I sang along to El Himno Nacional de El Salvador, I had a flood of memories. I thought back to all the games I went to in El Salvador with my friends over the years and though I felt nostalgic for my homeland, I felt happy at the same time.

We lost the game, which was disappointing, but I’m still proud of my country’s efforts, and prouder still to be part of the crowd that was lucky enough to cheer them on.

While we waited for the Metro train to go home, my wife, Tracy, interviewed me – so, I’ll share that with you.

P.S. – Tracy always taught me that if I don’t know a word, look it up. English lesson of the day from Dictionary.com:

Ramparts – a broad elevation or mound of earth raised as a fortification around a place and usually capped with a stone or earth parapet.

Comments
  1. Josie says:

    You’re a lucky man! My husband saw La Selecta when they came to Utah last year and once when he was still in El Salvador and he would love to see them again.

  2. [...] Win or lose, it was an amazing experience. I know it was particularly special for Carlos. I asked him what it felt like being in the stadium surrounded by so many Salvadorans. He said it reminded him of home and the games he used to go to with his friends. The good thing about Salvadorans is that even though Carlos didn’t have his old friends with him, the guys seated around us were more than willing to fill-in for the day. I know Carlos to be a mostly quiet guy, but when he’s with other salvadoreños he opens up and is actually quite talkative. I love to see him uninhibited like that. [ Read Carlos's post about the day here.] [...]

  3. humincat says:

    Lol! I still have no clue what ramparts are, and I’ve read the definition 3 times! And que suave! I’m so happy for you guys to have had a chance to go experience this!! One question though…does everyone stand at all soccer games or what? Is it the whole time or just for fotos? I saw Tracy’s pictures and yours and everyone is standing! I’m too lazy to stand for that long, lol.

  4. Susan says:

    I’m so glad you could go and see the game. Looks like a lot of fun! What a great idea to look up words you don’t know (although that rampart is still a hard one)…I usually just skip over them! Now I think I’ll have to look in to if Bolivia ever plays there…it would be fun to take my husband to one of those games.

  5. humincat says:

    Hey lady, miss you!

Leave a Reply

