Chocobananos

Posted: June 11, 2011 in childhood, El Salvador, food, memories

I made these with Tracy today.

Chocobananos remind me of El Salvador. My mother used to have them in the freezer to sell, but I would end up eating them all myself.

If you want to make some, here’s how – (very easy recipe.)

CHOCOBANANOS

Ingredients:

Bananas – ripe, but not too ripe, (yellow, without spots works best)
Melting chocolate – (there are special brands especially for chocobananos sold at Latino Markets.)
sticks – (you can use popsicle sticks, but the little ones sold at Latino Markets work best.)

Directions:

Peel bananas and cut in half lengthwise.
Insert sticks into banana halves, about halfway through.
Place bananas on a plate in the freezer for about an hour.
Melt chocolate over medium heat.
Dip chilled bananas in chocolate. Try to cover as much of it as possible.
Place bananas back in the freezer for about an hour. (You can place them on wax paper so they’re easier to remove.)

Enjoy!

Comments
  1. humincat says:

    Great idea for a simple summer treat! I remember these from when I was little, but I don’t know if my girls have ever had them. We’ll make some this week and I’ll let you know how they turn out.

  2. Victory says:

    I used to love these as a little girl! I can still envision the kits, but sadly I have not seen them in years. I’ll have to start looking again.

  3. This sounds delish! I’ve never tried making chocolate covered bananas at home but know Godiva sells them all the time in their stores. Will try this receta this summer.

    Thanks for the recipe and for linking up. Mandale saludos a tu esposa Tracy aka Latinaish!

  4. Kim says:

    Mis hijos lo agradecerán, Carlos!

  5. Stefy says:

    Ya se me antojaron los chocobananos.. :)..

  6. Celi says:

    Love choco bananos. Buenisimos

  7. [...] and while I do make sure I eat it on a daily basis, I don’t feel passionate about it, (unless chocobananos count, which I don’t believe they [...]

Leave a Reply

