Back To School

Posted: May 26, 2011 in humor, mi gringa, personal, school, trying new things, work

The other day I enrolled in my first American college class. The class is a 10 week course starting in September which results in a certificate in Dental Assisting. I still have to do the financial aid paperwork, but so far, I’m at least signed up. It’s not like I always dreamed of being a Dental Assistant and I don’t even know if I will seek a career in dentistry, but the schedule and price seem doable. I actually always wanted to be a doctor, but this is close enough. The important thing I think is to remove self-doubt about whether I can understand and pass a class taught in English.

I feel nervous but excited at the same time. When Tracy went with me to sign up for the class she started laughing. I asked why and she said, “Remember the elf on Rudolph the Red-Nosed reindeer?” … I had no idea what she was talking about until she showed me this video. I guess I am like Hermie the elf.

Comments
  1. Lib says:

    Carlos, bravo for you. Stepping out of your comfort zone is a hard thing to do. Iam pretty sure with Tracy’s help and support you will do just fine. I’m liking the blog, keep it up.

  2. Sue Valencia says:

    Oooh man! LOVED IT!!! Y MUCHAS FELICIDADES for the big step forward amigo! I´m sure you will enjoy your course and you´ll get to see the endless possibilities lying inside of you waiting to come out and surprise you and everyone around you. You will be on fire! :D
    You are so blessed to have a wife that is so supportive, and to have the courage to explore new things. Arriba y adelante!!! Un abrazote!

    P.S. Here´s the link to my post today, you might find it handy ;D

    http://nicethingsinsmallpackages.blogspot.com/2011/05/flores-pa-pluton.html

  3. melssel says:

    Carlos, I am a fan of your wife’s blog and now yours! Felicidades on going back to school. Si se puede! Mi esposo, un Chapin, went back to school and found it very challenging (especially the learning in English part!), but after 6+ years of endurance and hard work, he will finally be graduating this week! You have such a supportive family and you’ll find that support system will help you get through school much easier than you think.

  4. [...] recently started college classes in Dental Assisting. We really aren’t quite sure what he’ll do with that certificate when/if he passes, [...]

  5. Kudos to you! Congratulations on going back to school. (even if you do not seek a career in dentistry) I’ve begged my hubby to go back. The fear of the unknown and fear of not understanding everything fully has always made him decline. Very happy for you and your decision.

Leave a Reply

