You Know You Married a Gringa When…

Posted: May 13, 2011 in gringolandia, humor, marriage, mi gringa

My wife once wrote a post on her blog called, You know you married a Salvadoran when…. As you’ve probably guessed, now I’m going to have a little revenge.

You Know You Married a Gringa When…

#1. You have a peanut butter sandwich in your lunch box every day.

#2. Your pet dog is treated like a family member rather than an animal.

#3. There are 5 different kinds of sunscreen in the bathroom cabinet.

#4. You have to explain who is Topo Gigio, Chavo del 8, and Cantinflas.

#5. You see your spouse barefooted more often than not.

#6. Moving your mother into the house is A VERY BIG DEAL.

#7. You can quote the funniest lines from every episode of Seinfeld, (and actually understand the humor now.)

#8. You start to think certain behaviors are rude, which you once thought were normal – (such as not showing up on time or showing up uninvited.)

#9. Your father-in-law talks to you about baseball, American football and NASCAR, but not soccer.

#10. She laughs at you when you tell her pointing at a rainbow makes it disappear and when you put Vicks Vaporub up your nose.

(Got another one? Add it in comments!)

Comments
  1. MJ says:

    This post is too funny!! Bienvenido a blogland Carlos!

  2. nikolacolada says:

    Haha this made me laugh… I’m (soon to be) married to a Mexican.. which I know is not a Salvadoran but some of the same things apply.. the peanut butter and jelly sandwhiches for one.
    I’m looking forward to more from your blog and I think it’s awesome you’re trying new things. I can definitely relate!

  3. Jajaja. Mi esposo estaría totalmente de acuerdo. Aunque en nuestro caso, ambos somos colombianos pero yo soy “agrignada”. Excelente entrada, me reí mucho y mi esposo también. Sigue blogueando!

    • Carlos says:

      Muchas gracias por tu comentario, Angela. La madrina de mi hijo menor es colombiana. La conosco desde que llegue aquí y disfruto cada vez que la visito comer arepas :)

  4. Patty says:

    That’s awesome! I have to go read her list now.

    Being from Ecuador my mom NEVER EVER made me a peanut butter sandwich! LOL
    #4 so true! I’ve had to explain to my gringo boyfriend
    #& I really can’t stand Seinfeld.

    great list!

  5. Tara says:

    This was hilarious! My husband told me just a couple of days ago that I’m feeding our son too much peanut butter! I also laughed about -not showing up on time and showing up uninvited- as being rude…. my husband has also taken on this view.

    Great post!

  6. humincat says:

    Hahaha! That made me laugh out loud, which scared the dog sleeping next to me. :) Mi esposo ya me dijo “NO MORE SANDWICHES!” Y la ultra dia, escuche mi esposo hablando con su hermano, diciendo que no estabien que viene 2 horas tarde, que “ya no estamos en Mexico Cabron!” I loved this post!

    • Carlos says:

      Sabes qué? Ahora me gustan los peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I eat one almost every day for our “break time” at work. Lunch is usually leftovers from dinner.

      Me reía mucho cuando leí, “ya no estamos en Mexico cabron” … bien chistoso.

  7. Josie says:

    Jajaja mi esposo es de El Salvador y yo soy gabacha. Everything you said is true!!! Hahaha!

  8. Nikkeya says:

    omg roFL! jajajaj funny sooo true i had a lot of girnga friends growing up who were worse i would hope Tracy doesnt say “Quesa-dillia” i hate that u know how some gabachos say it like Napoleon Dynamite.

Leave a Reply

